Academy of Orchestral Studies

Born in 2004 thanks to the collaboration of the Regional Government of Andalusia and Daniel Barenboim, the Academy of Orchestral Studies is one of the first projects of the Barenboim-Said Foundation. The main objectives of the Academy are to create a tradition of musical excellence and to train young musicians to access professional orchestras. The Academy is based in Seville, Spain, establishing a strong collaboration with the local music conservatories and institutions.

International soloists from some of the main European orchestras make up the Academy’s teaching staff, where the following instruments are taught: violin, viola, cello, double bass, flute/piccolo, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn and percussion. Starting on 2020/21 piano has been also included. The Academy’s lessons take place during the weekends in order not to interfere with the conservatories’ schedules.

All students must pass an annual audition in order to access the Academy of Orchestral Studies. Once they are enrolled in the Academy, all musicians receive individual instrument lessons, which are complemented with additional activities, such as masterclasses, chamber music lessons and orchestral workshops and concerts. Students are encouraged to create chamber music ensembles, with the support of their teachers, enabling them to perform in different local venues.

Renowned conductors such as Pablo Heras-Casado, Juanjo Mena, John Axelrod, Maxim Elmelyanychev or Domingo Hindoyan, among others, have already worked with the Academy’s students. World-class soloists Yehuda Gilad (clarinet), Torsten Schönfeld (timpani), Mor Biron (bassoon) or Asier Polo (cello) are some of the teachers who have already been invited to our masterclasses.

For further information about the Academy of Orchestral Studies, please contact us on or +34 954 71 29 92.v

Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlín


Scottish Chamber Orchestra (Soloist)

Bayerischen Rundfunk Orchester (Soloist)

Hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt (Soloist)


  • Mor Biron – Bassoon

Berliner Philharmoniker (Soloist)

Orchestre de la Suisse Romande

Mahler Chamber Orchestra (Soloist)

Staatskapelle Berlin (Soloist)

Staatskapelle Berlin (Soloist)

London Symphony Orchestra (Soloist)


Orquesta y Coros Nacionales de España (Concertmaster)

Berliner Philharmoniker